There are a number of scholarships available for Girl Scouts who are preparing for college, hoping to study abroad, or are looking to fund a project.

If you want more information about scholarships and grants and applying for financial aid, visit Girl Scout Central’s scholarship page. Here are a few scholarships and awards that Girl Scouts from Central Maryland have benefited from:

The Prudential Spirit of the Community Awards

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards honor young people in middle level and high school grades for outstanding volunteer service to their communities. It is the United States’ largest youth recognition program based exclusively on volunteer community service.

Local Honorees are selected at participating schools and organizations every November. From these winners, an independent judging organization names the top middle level and high school volunteer in each state and Washington, D.C. Results are announced in early February. Then, 10 National Honorees are chosen by a panel of prominent public figures, and announced at a special ceremony in Washington, D.C., in May.

Students chosen as Local Honorees receive a Certificate of Achievement from their schools or organizations. Those who qualify (50 hours of service for age 14 and younger, 100 hours for those older) also receive the President’s Volunteer Service Award. State Honorees receive an award of $1,000, an engraved silver medallion, and an all-expense-paid trip with a parent or guardian to Washington, D.C., for national recognition events. National Honorees receive an additional award of $5,000, an engraved gold medallion, a crystal trophy for their schools or organizations, and a $5,000 grant from The Prudential Foundation for a non-profit, charitable organization of their choice.

Read about GSCM’s Prudential Spirit of the Community Award Honorees here.

Corinne Jeannine Schillings Foundation

The Corinne Jeannine Schillings Foundation is dedicated to preserving the memory of Corinne Schillings, a 26-year-old woman who lost her life in the Baltimore Water Taxi accident on March 6, 2004. Corinne, who was a Silver Award Girl Scout believed strongly in higher education for women and in learning about cultures through language and travel.
The foundation will award academic scholarships to deserving young women who have earned the Girl Scout Gold or Silver Award and who plan to or are currently pursuing a college major or minor in foreign language. This scholarship is renewable.

The foundation will award travel abroad scholarships that Silver or Gold Award Girl Scouts who plan to study abroad, regardless of her major/minor. It is not necessary to be a scholarship recipient to apply for this one-time grant; nor are scholarship recipients excluded from applying. This grant is not renewable.

Philena Chase Strappelli Leadership Development Award
This award provides financial assistance to Girl Scouts ages 13 – 20 to enable them to participate in projects that will promote leadership and increase their knowledge, skills and experience. The awards can be applied to tuition for a course, seminar, conference, transportation costs to an event, or to buy supplies to attend an event that relates to leadership development. Learn more about the Award and the application process.

Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW): Scout of the Year Scholarship:

Annually, the Veterans of Foreign Wars recognizes four individuals: Eagle Scouts, Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Venture Silver Award recipients and Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peers in exemplifying the exceptional qualities of that rank with the following:

  • $5,000 1st place scholarship
  • $3,000 2nd place scholarship
  • $1,000 3rd place scholarship

For more information about deadlines, criteria, and general applications, visit:

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes

The Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes celebrates outstanding young leaders. Each year the Barron Prize honors 25 inspiring young people who have made a significant positive difference to people and our planet. These young people reflect great diversity: They are female and male, urban and rural, and from many races and backgrounds. 
The Prize was founded by author T. A. Barron in 2000 in honor of his mother.

For more information about deadlines, criteria, and general applications, visit:

To search for scholarships for Girl Scouts by college/university visit:

For Girl Scouts contemplating a career in nursing, check out the following resource:


Website © 2012-2016 by Integrated Designs, Inc. | Reporting